Bucknell hosts Lehigh to open fall

Last weekend, Bucknell opened its fall season by hosting Lehigh for a 6k time trial on the Susquehanna River. Possessing one of its largest rosters ever, Bucknell fielded five eights. The top three eights were varsity lineups based on speed while the bottom two were novice crews designed to be even.

Saturday didn’t yield many flashy highlights from a spectator’s perspective until the very end, when the Bucknell 2v held off a charging Lehigh 1v to close its race. While Lehigh did make up its initial deficit, the Bucknell 2v felt proud that it was able to cross the line ahead of a quicker crew, even if by just a foot.

The remainder of racing was fairly straightforward, with the Bucknell 1v edging the Lehigh 1v by 4.8 seconds, and the Bucknell 2v and 3v both beating the Lehigh 2v by respectable margins. Trailing behind were the Bucknell “A” and “B” novice crews which featured a number of athletes with no rowing experience prior to August. As those individuals continue to develop, the coaching staff anticipates that a few might advance into varsity lineups as early as this fall.

Next Bucknell will travel to travel to Philadelphia where it will compete at the Navy Day Regatta on Sunday, October 16.

Bucknell 1v – 19:20.1
Lehigh 1v – 19:24.9
Bucknell 2v – 19:52.0
Bucknell 3v – 20:22.1
Lehigh 2v – 20:42.2
Bucknell Novice “A” – 21:39.6
Bucknell Novice “B” – 21:54.0

1st Varsity 8 – 2022 Hudson S8.32 SHARK Super Predator
Coxswain: Emma Minadeo, Sr.
Stroke: Luke Lambropoulos, Jr.
7: Dirk Puleo, So.
6: Zach Gerhardt, Jr.
5: Ryan Genel, Fr.
4: Jack Fiala, Jr.
3: Conor McNichols, So.
2: Ryan Spallone, So.
Bow: Andrew Viola, Jr.

2nd Varsity 8 – 2022 Hudson S8.32 SHARK Super Predator
Coxswain: Ben Weggeland, Sr.
Stroke: Aidan DeWitt, So.
7: Nathan Peot, Jr.
6: James McGarry, Fr.
5: Kevin Carney, Jr.
4: Sen Zelov, So.
3: Chris Kirby, Fr.
2: Will Amrhein, Jr.
Bow: Luca Arvanitis, So.

3rd Varsity 8 – Class of 2020
Coxswain: Brennan Newcomb, Fr.
Stroke: Ben Schaffer, Fr.
7: Oliver Abushacra, Fr.
6: Andy Thompson, So.
5: Tim Robertson, Fr.
4: Graham Knox, Jr.
3: Garrett Van Blarcom-DeLuise, Fr.
2: Dominic Canale, Jr.
Bow: Sean Kucic, Fr.

Novice 8+ “A” – Uebele
Coxswain: Austin Carroll, Fr.
Stroke: Miles Kline, So.
7: Dan Van Syckle, Sr.
6: Carson Giust, Fr.
5: Travis Stanitis, Fr.
4: Ryan Firestone, Fr.
3: Finn Atkins, Fr.
2: James Barker, Fr.
Bow: Griffin Walsh, Fr.

Novice 8+ “B” – Trustee Challenge
Coxswain: Josiah Kwok, Fr.
Stroke: Will Blumenthal, Fr.
7: Brian Skeels, Sr.
6: Christian Wall, Fr.
5: Mason Cametas, Sr.
4: John Kirincich, Fr.
3: Josh Raeter, Fr.
2: Brent Mankin, Sr.
Bow: Caleb Schmidt, Fr.