Bucknell Men’s Crew Wins Conference Championship

This past weekend, Bucknell competed in the 11th Annual Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championships, the first year as an official member, held on Pinchot Lake, in Lewisbury, PA. The Bison won the Conference Championship for Bucknell this year, having take gold in the Men’s Varsity 8+, 2nd Varsity 8+, and 3rd Varsity 8+ races, as well as Bronze in the Men’s Varsity 4+ and Men’s 2-.

Conditions for the morning races had a very strong head wind and all races after the Men’s Varsity 4+ heats were suspended. After a meeting with the Racing committee, it was determined that racing would resume several hours later at 3:00pm. Once racing resumed, there was only a slight quartering head wind and lanes preferences changed from chevron to 6-1. Full race results can be found here.

The Men’s 1V heat was the first boat to kick the day off for the Bison. Seeded as the top crew, Bucknell (6:42) would advance to the Grand Final with Johnson & Wales (7:16), sending Franklin & Marshall (7:21) and Loyola (7:24) to the Petite Final and Mary Washington (7:39) to the 3rd Level Final. In the Grand Final, Bucknell won with a time of 6:11 over Marietta (6:19), George Mason (6:28), Lafayette (6:41), Washington (6:47), and Johnson & Wales (7:09). This win would allow Bucknell to take home the Men’s Varsity 8+ Trophy.

Over in the Men’s 2V, this event was straight to Grand Finals with only 4 programs fielding a boat. With conditions becoming cleaner as the afternoon racing went on, Bucknell was able to take home Gold in this event as well with a time of 6:31 over Marietta (6:42), George Mason (7:24), and Washington (7:49).

The Men’s 3V event was also a straight to Grand Final race that was combined with the Men’s Novice 8+ boats. This was a 5 boat race that had Bucknell victorious once again, placing a time of 6:51 over Marietta (6:59), Stockton (7:37), Penn State (7:45), and George Mason (7:48).

Beyond the 8+s, Bucknell also fielded a Men’s Varsity 4+, a point scoring boat, for this Championship. This was on of the largest events of the day with a total of 17 boats over 13 programs. With weather conditions worsening during the V4+ heats, Bucknell (8:19) was able to place second in the heat behind Stony Brook A (8:13) and ahead of Lafayette B (8:36), Franklin & Marshall (8:42), and Susquehanna (9:34).

The Men’s Pair event was listed as TBD throughout the afternoon, and was tentatively set to race after the Men’s 1V event. As the 1V was launching, the Pairs events were canceled, however Bucknell’s and Lafayette’s pairs decided to launch and go out for a row together since the water was near flat. They were quickly joined by Lafayette’s Women’s pair, North Park’s Women’s Pair, and Adrian’s Men’s Pair. Out on the water, they decided to race 1000m race, starting off their own calls. With no official times recorded, Lafayette crossed the line first, with Adrian in second and Bucknell in third. The racing committee graciously awarded medals to these crews even though it was an unofficial race.

The Bison now head into Finals Week here on Campus while they train for the Dad Vail Regatta on May 10th and 11th on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia, PA.

1st Varsity 8 – 2018 Resolute Mid-weight XT
Cox: Max Silverman ’22
8: Ryan McSherry ’19
7: Bobby Subak ’21
6: John Leasure ’19
5: Alex Seel ’20
4: Drew Stonnington ’19
3: Tom Lanphier ’20
2: Philip Onffroy ’22
Bow: Duncan Ragland ’19

2nd Varsity 8 – Class of 1985
Cox: Daniel Joseph ’22
8: Matt Brown ’20
7: Matt LaRouche ’20
6: Davis MacKelcan ’22
5: Gunnar Vorwerk ’19
4: Chris Mangano ’21
3: Alex Herman ’20
2: Peter Foradora ’22
Bow: Harry Hobart ’22

3rd Varsity 8 – Scott Uebele ’00
Cox: Max Silverman ’22
8: Nick Caravias ’22
7: Aaron Swope ’22
6: Liam Pearce ’21
5: Taylor LaRosa ’21
4: Sebastian Bickford ’21
3: Christian Sieck ’22
2: Ethan Laurens ’22
Bow: Conrad Fite ’22

Varsity 4+ – Hudson SP
Cox: Brody Mistrot ’21
4: Phil Thompson ’20
3: Cian Nowak ’22
2: Ryan Wang ’19
Bow: Jackson Ingram ’21

Varsity 2-
Stern: Nick Caravias ’22
Bow: Sam Jacob ’20