Bison Compete at National Invitational Rowing Championship

Bucknell returned to Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, MA to compete at the NIRC regatta (formerly the ECAC championship). The Bison finished well, with the Varsity eight placing 7th, third varsity eight finishing 4th, and varsity four finishing 6th.

The varsity eight narrowly missed out on a grand final appearance, losing to a surprisingly quick Marist crew and the eventual bronze medaling WPI crew by 0.2 seconds. Relegated to the petite final the Bison made sure to leave no doubt where they belonged, winning the B-final by well over a length over the field. The 1v was rowed by Nick Barpoulis ’17, Sam Jubb ’17, David Dayya ’20, John Leasure ’19, Drew Stonnington ’19, Dillon LaFata ’18, Billy Pinamont ’17, Ryan McSherry ’19, and was coxed by Cami Berlin ’19.

The second varsity eight ended up in the fastest heat of the day, finishing in 5th place despite placing one of the faster times of the event. This moved them into the third level final, where they would win by a healthy margin. The 2v was rowed by Mike Pallotta ‘18, Lucas Colagrossi ’17, Duncan Ragland ’19, Thomas Marth ’19, Christian Daugherty ’18, Tom Lanphier ’20, Pat Long ’18, James Koenigsberg ’18, and was coxed by Perry Hamilton ’18.

The third varsity eight dealt with some big illness and injury issues before the regatta, but still held their own. Rowing in a final only, the Bison would finish 4th, just behind Bates and WPI. The third varsity was rowed by Gunnar Vorwerk ’19, Alex Seel ’20, John Robertshaw ’20, Ryan Wang ’19, David Sullivan ’20, Alex Herman ’20, Matt Brown ’20, Mike Birosak ’18, and was coxed by Nicole Finan ’17.

The varsity fours were also affected by some injury and illness issues, but dealt with it well. The “A” boat would finish 6th overall in the final and the “B” boat would finish just behind Williams to finish 6th in the petite final. The “A” boat was rowed by Gary Tse ’19, Matt McLaughlin ’20, Phil Thompson ’20, Matt Gorloff ’20, and was coxed by Henry Leonardi ’18. The “B” boat was rowed by Caleb Choi ’20, Sam Jacob ’20, Solomon Wise ’20, Matt LaRouche ’20, and was coxed by Zack Schiffer ’20.